Category archives for: Sports

Baseball will depend on youth to contribute

by Ricky Rogers | rrogers6@radford.edu The Highlanders men’s baseball team has found its fountain of youth. Radford has its youngest team in years, as they debut 16 total freshmen. Radford has a lot of young new talent who are working every day and will be in starting positions this spring. “I look to get better […]

Player profile: Destinee Walker is an unexpected star for Radford

by Colleen McNickle | cmcnickle@radford.edu Radford women’s basketball stands at the top of the Big South conference with an overall record of 17-6 to go along with a 9-3 conference mark. The driving force behind one of their best seasons in recent memory has been Destinee Walker. The sophomore who plays guard and forward has […]

Softball looks to build on 2016 turnaround

by Jason Blocker | jblocker2@radford.edu “If you love what you do, yeah sometimes it’s tough, but you enjoy that process.” What a process it has been. Entering her second year as head softball coach for the Highlanders, nobody seems to love that process more than Aileen Morales. Unlike most processes, however, this one seemed to […]

Women’s basketball has up and down week

By Joe Huss | jhuss@radford.edu The Highlanders split the week with a loss to Liberty while winning against Charleston Southern University. The Highlanders first played on Tuesday in Lynchburg against the Flames and saw a huge second half comeback not be enough in a 49-48 loss. The loss came despite a strong second half that […]

Men’s basketball gets back to winning ways in Big South

By Lucas Goad | lgoad7@radford.edu The Radford University men’s basketball team beat Charleston Southern Thursday at the Dedmon Center through the three ball in a 79-67 victory, ending a five-game Highlander losing streak in a Big South showdown. The Highlanders (11-15, 6-8) looked to bounce back from a close loss to Liberty from the previous […]

Men’s basketball home woes continue

by Carrie Birkett | cbirkett@radford.edu Radford Men’s basketball (9-14) started out last week hosting conference leader Winthrop (18-5). When these two teams met earlier in the season, Radford edged out the Eagles in an 82-80 upset behind Justin Cousin’s six 3-pointers and Caleb Tanner’s second straight 20-plus point game. But last Wednesday the Highlanders were […]

Inside the NFL Pro Bowl

Hannah Curran | hcurran1@radford.edu This past weekend, I had the opportunity to attend the USA National Football Conference as well as the NFL Pro Bowl. The conference is a five-day conference held in Orlando, Flordia for football coaches, USA Football staff, and NFL personnel. It was a great experience to be able to attend and […]

Women’s basketball splits Big South results

by Jason Blocker | jblocker2@radford.edu The Radford women’s basketball team allowed Presbyterian to climb back from a five-point, fourth quarter deficit to lose 58-54 at the Templeton Center last Tuesday night. Brilliant shooting displays from Destinee Walker and Jayda Worthy were not enough to overcome a late Blue Hose rally. Walker and Worthy came out of […]

Women’s basketball holds on to conference lead

by Devin Stubbs | dstubbs@radford.edu Tuesday, the Liberty University Flames (5-12, 4-2 Big South) traveled to Dedmon Center for a match against the Radford Highlanders (13-4, 5-1 Big South). A 12-game losing streak to the Flames provided extra incentive for the Highlanders in their 76-68 win. Radford sophomore Destinee Walker lead the team going a perfect […]

Former Highlander selected in Major League Soccer SuperDraft

by Will Beverina | wbeverina@radford.edu Former Radford men’s soccer standout Jo Vetle Rimstad made history on Jan. 13 when he became the first Highlander to be selected in the Major League Soccer SuperDraft. The Harestua, Norway native was selected by D.C. United in the second round with the 43rd overall pick, the latest in a […]

Featured Links

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google

Photo Gallery

Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes